Home > Emacs, Tools > Emacs Auto-complete Mode

Emacs Auto-complete Mode

I’ve just discovered a new add-on for Emacs called auto-complete-mode. After watching the video I was skeptical: I thought “this is going to get annoying really fast. However, after giving it a quick try, it is pretty cool. I think it will be especially useful in programming modes, since it presents your own symbol values from the current buffer as completion values. Also, auto-complete-mode only tries to complete if you pause typing. You can also bind a specific key (the author recommends M-TAB) to initiate auto-completion.

So I just typed “auto-completion” and the first choice that came up when I paused after “auto-compl” was “auto-complete-mode,” but then I hit TAB after the menu comes up and “auto-completion” is there now too. In other words, auto-complete-mode is smart: it learns.

Links:

Categories: Emacs, Tools Tags:
  1. anon
    July 8, 2010 at 20:34

    neat, like predictive but for code or even a dabbrev on steroids

    Like

  2. July 10, 2010 at 06:56

    ıt’s so pretty,thanks

    Like

  1. July 9, 2010 at 15:03
  2. July 9, 2010 at 17:24

Leave a comment